top of page

First Saturday Sci-Fi - July 2019

Can you believe it's July already? Goes by quick!! This month I have a treat for you... Abbey MacMunn ! Abbey and I are carried by the same publisher and writes the kind of Sci-Fi I can not... romantic Sci-Fi ! I've tried mind you but it's just something I can not do. Abbey does it better than anyone else I know... she has one of the most beautiful book covers out there... and as luck would have it you can get Violet Souls for 1/2 price for the entire month of July!! You'll love her books!


Abbey writes paranormal and fantasy romance. She lives in Hampshire, UK, with her husband and their four children. When she’s not writing, she likes to watch films and TV shows – anything from rom-coms to superheroes to science fiction movies.

1. Tell us about your favorite work… what makes it special ?


My favourite work is always the latest book I'm working on because I get so involved in the characters and the story. But having said that, Violet Souls, The Evoxian Legacies, book 1, will always hold a special place in my heart because it was the first full length book I ever wrote.


2. What do you think makes for good Sci-Fi ?


For me, it has to be fast-paced with plenty of action, and the world-building has to be believable and at least remotely possible. But above all, the characters, alien or otherwise, have to face human-like conflicts - I want to be able to relate to their problems in some small way, to connect with them and in turn, invest in them and want to follow their journey.


3. Do you think your books can help shape the future and if so how?


Who knows?! The concept in this book is that violet-eyed aliens with superpowers are living in harmony amongst us on Earth. It could be true in the future, right? Or maybe they're already here...


4. Do you have inside jokes or true events hidden in your writing?


I get inspiration from events that have happened to me or someone I know, or even a snippet of an overheard conversation, but I also have a vivid imagination, so most of it is made up.


5. Which do you prefer… model your characters after people you know or just make them up?


I make them up, but sprinkle their traits and personalities with people I know or have met in the past.


6. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to take away?


No, I would describe my writing as light-hearted, although there are some dark parts, but would just like my readers escape for a while.


7. What is your favorite review?


One of my favourites went something like this: "Sexy aliens living in the Cotswolds? Why not?!". I think this just about sums up Violet Souls in one line!


What comes next?


I'm almost ready to send Violet Spirit, book 2 of The Evoxian Legacies, off to my publisher, Tirgearr, and in the meantime, I'm working on a paranormal rom-com series featuring an online dating agency for supernatural beings.


Where can we learn more?


Learn more on my website: http://www.abbeymacmunn.com


Buy links for Violet Souls:

Amazon US

Amazon UK Smashwords Apple

Kobo

Nook

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
bottom of page