top of page

First Saturday Sci-Fi - May 2019



I don't know about you but I'm having trouble believing we're in May already !! I barely had time to buy flower seeds let alone get anything planted...


If you've spent any time on Twitter this year you can't help but see this months author!! Her cover has been seen far and wide for months and I for one am very happy to have her here with us today !!!


Cheryl Lawson lives in BC, Canada, with her husband and son. Cheryl grew up in South Africa, moving to Canada in 2006 when her son was just a year old. They settled in the lower mainland of BC, before moving, to the southern Interior in 2017. After a long career as a graphic designer, photographer and artist, Cheryl began pursuing writing, full-time, in 2014. She released her first non-fiction book in 2016. When she is not writing, Cheryl continues to pursue her passion for nature through her art and photography. She has recently exhibited a selection of water colour paintings at a local gallery. She enjoys the outdoors, and space, science and astronomy. Cheryl is a member of the Kamloops Arts Council.Her non-fiction book, a manifesto of her career as a creative professional, is entitled Authentic Creativity, How to Make the Most of Your Creative Intent, Strategy & Perspective. It is penned under her married name, Cheryl Bezuidenhout. We Are Mars is her debut science fiction novel, released in 2018. Her second novel, Storm at Dawn is due for release in late 2019.


1. Tell us about your favorite work… what makes it special ?


I really enjoyed creating my debut novel, We Are Mars. It was done without all the hangups and restrictions I feel I have now, thanks to learning so much more about writing in the past year. What makes it special is it is the first time I’ve attempted a novel, and I’m proud of what I achieved.



2. What do you think makes for good Sci-Fi ?


For me, good science fiction should have plenty of imagination. It can have loads of action and great characters, but if it lacks imagination and the story is only so-so, I can’t connect with it.


3. Do you think your books can help shape the future and if so how?


I hope my books help educate people about the perils of space travel and new world colonies on far-off planets. It’s one thing to say you’re going to build a colony on Mars. It’s quite another to actually do that and achieve it in a healthy, sustainable way.


4. Do you have inside jokes or true events hidden in your writing?


I have one minor obscurity tucked away in my current work in progress, and much of my research and facts about Mars are real and based on data obtained from sources such as NASA, Space-X and other scientific space exploration sources.


5. Which do you prefer… model your characters after people you know or just make them up?


I make my characters up. They may share traits from people that I admire, or that I consider to be evil, etc. For instance, one of my minor, sub-characters (more like a special guest-type cameo), is modelled on Sir Richard Branson.


6. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to take away?


I suppose there is. Space exploration is a double-edged sword. There will be consequences for going to space and on to other planets that we haven’t even begun to anticipate, yet. We should be cautious in our enthusiasm to set down roots anywhere other than Earth.



7. What is your favorite review?


My favorite Review of We Are Mars is the video review Quinn Buckland did for We Are Mars. His enthusiasm for the story made me feel great. I know that I have a fan in Quinn.


What comes next?


Book Two of the Rubicon Saga is next - Storm at Dawn is out later this year (hopefully!). I’ve been drowning in the edits for that recently, so hard at work and almost there. I think - haha!


Where can we learn more?


You can check out my site: wearemars.com

or find me on social media at:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rubiconsaga/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WeAreMarsBook Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cheryl_lawson_author/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9878097.Cheryl_Lawson

__


Buy links:

Amazon com: https://www.amazon.com/We-Are-Mars-Rubicon-Saga-

ebook/dp/B07CJRT1YC/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=#customerReviews

Amazon Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/0995092125/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1523562782&sr=8-1&keywords=we+are+mars&linkCode=sl1&tag=swt-gfc-20&linkId=bc14c9cee6b7a8b3970fe4b632a9349c

Chapter Indigo (Canada): https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/we-are-mars-the-rubicon/9780995092136-item.html?ikwid=we+are+mars&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=17


More links on my home page of my website.


__




Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
bottom of page